Since 2001, RWTH Aachen University presents an award for outstanding achievements in teaching and learning. In 2003, the teaching award was given to the team delivering the MSc European Mining Course / European Minerals and Environmental Course. In 2018, the very same MSc European Mining Course has received the EIT label from the European Institute of Innovation and Technology Raw Materials. This label recognises education programmes that provide students with an outstanding foundation for a future career through industry-focused programmes, which enable collaboration with top specialists in the field from academia, research and industry.

Students and staff

Students and staff of the Institute of Mineral Resource Engineering regularly receive prizes for their excellent theses. Recipients of the previous years are as follows:

Karl Arnold Prize of the Foundation of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts

  • 2023: Rudolf Suppes

Carl-Hellmut-Fritzsche-Award of the Vereinigung Aachener Bergakademiker (VAB)

  • 2022: Jan Niklas Bender
  • 2021: Lena Noner
  • 2020: Janik Schöller
  • 2019: Niklas Willing
  • 2018: Daan Haegel
  • 2017: Malte Jan Michael Gurgel
  • 2016: Vitus Meyer
  • 2015: Rudolf Suppes

Awards of the Wilhelm-Heinrich Sobbe Foundation

  • 2017: Dr Markus Dammers, Sven Kunze, Kurt Diedrich
  • 2015: Chris Mickisch

Award of the FRE student association

  • 2019: Prof Bernd Lottermoser, Dr Alexander Hennig
  • 2018: Dr Alexander Hennig, Lars Barnewold